top of page
READ: Blog2
  • J Miller

Beauty in Business Brunch 2019

Updated: Nov 18, 2019


 

You ever had one of those Girl Boss dreams? When your surrounded by other bosses and everybody is on their grind and securing the bag at all costs? Well, my dream definitely came true when my media request to attend the annual BeautyinBusiness Empowerment Brunch last weekend! All thanks to God and Ms. Destiny McGill, Owner of VanityLifeStudios in Dallas,TX- who accepted my inquiry.


This was my very 1st times going to an empowerment and it was everything and more. If you don’t know what this event is about to sum it up we got to listen to an all-Star panel of women who are running the world & even engage our own personal questions to gain more knowledge of how to create the life and career that you truly deserve. There where tons of business vendors, influencers and the most creative entrepreneurs networking amongst one another and I promise there’s nothing more beautiful to me in the world.



Before I get into it, let me give the biggest shoutout of ALL time to my videographer - Check him out @ImagesbyAhmadJ - He helped me with one of careers’ biggest opportunities and I don’t doubt anything this man can do with a camera. Quality. Quality. Quality.


I bounced up and down the venue in my orange-ish jumpsuit and spoke with several flourishing, black-owned businesses that dab into every area from Hair, Makeup, Jewelry and so much more. Even got to meet the mother of the CEO,and she gave my spirit so much joy! Honestly, engaging with everyone in such a way, I couldn’t help become the most inspired. Being a woman in a male-dominated society, there is an unexplainable encouragement when you are in a position of ownership- of anything! It makes you want to help everybody tear away from that “uniform” mode of life and scream from the mountains “DO THAT THING YOU FEEL YOU CAN’T! IT IS ACHIEVABLE!"


Then....Can we have a moment of silence for the All-Star Panel? (Left to Right) Titia Owens, Vanessa Simmons, Kyona McGhee, JuJu, B.Simone, Mz.Skittlez, AshleyDevonna, Kim Stephens-Olusany


Luckily, no. I did not scream. But I did indeed speak to some of the ladies building their own empire and here is what they had to say:


(As shown in video: @MonstaBeautyDFW , @Amore7981, @TheHairShield, @FemalesWhoFlip, @BMarcelleBeauty, @StarBodyStudio, @SweetPiecesBoutique)


Each of these bosses coming from different walks of life and having one thing in common: Resilience.

Listening to each of their stories of success, failures, the importantance of relationship, goal-setting and most importantly, Investing yourself : I couldn’t wait to literally step my game all the way up. To go back home, get my journal out and back to mapping out a distraction-less plan to build brand sufficient enough to lead others to an abundance of true self-sufficiency and take care of my families for generations to come. True inspiration.


On the other side, My GirlBoss Fantasy came true when Comedy Queen, B.Simone (@TheBsimone2) stepped in front of my camera! Now, this beauty Mogul is from the same city Dallas,TX- of course! Let me tell you, it’s NOTHING more realistic than standing next to someone from your city who’s hustle and determination has led them all over the world! It’s personal. Damn near felt like me looking in a mirror 5 years from now, if I keep grinding. Now I get to speak with her one-on-one?!


See what I managed to spill out in-between all the intensity of excitement:



All in all, I cannot wait until Next Year! Even typing this made me want get back to work on my content!


Until Next Time!

Peace& Love.


J.





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page